Cookies · Roundup · Showcase

The Experiment + Inspiration Roundup

Sometimes, you have an idea that you really want to try. Then you start doing research on it and see incredibly gorgeous spins on that idea on Pinterest or Instagram or wherever, and you have one of two potential reactions.

1: You decide that you could never possibly achieve that level of gorgeous, that you’re utterly lacking, and you cry yourself to sleep in a pint of Ben & Jerry’s.

or,

2: You feel so inspired, that you’re sure your head will simply explode if you don’t follow through on it.

Now, I’ve long since decided that I’m not going to let disembodied online personas make me feel bad about anything; my talents, my abilities, my body, my thoughts, my everything are all my own, and even if it’s not as awesome or perfect as someone else’s, it’s awesome enough for me and I’m gonna rock it.

Just me? No? Good!

I decided to follow through on an idea I had following an exchange with a potential customer. Now, they decided not to place an order for the idea, but I really wanted to try it out anyway. Since I had an incoming order that wouldn’t use a full recipe of cookie dough, I decided to use the remaining dough to give it a shot.

Would you stop being so vague and just get on with it? What is IT?! I’m so glad you asked!!

I wanted to try and build a cookie box. Not a box for cookies, though it would hold some, but a box made of cookie! Now how awesome is that?

So, first, here’s a roundup of some of the amazing inspiration I encountered on this theme:

That last one is from the ever-perfect cookier SweetAmbs, and links to her tutorial for how to make one of these sweet boxes. If you want some more pieces of joy, here are some links to fantastic pieces on Instagram:

#cookiebox #cookies #giftcookie #decoratedcookies #royalicingcookies #aurouscreations

A post shared by Aurous Creations (@cakes_aurouscreations) on

Aren’t they amazing?! I mean, how cute would that toolbox be for Father’s Day, huh? I mean, these are awesome and had me feeling SO inspired!! I just had to do it! So, drumroll, please, here is my very first cookie box:

IMG_20160615_081843IMG_20160615_081632IMG_20160615_080348IMG_20160615_081659

It’s not perfect, but for a first try I’m really quite proud of it! I had fun and learned a lot. For instance: don’t put the feet on the bottom cookie until you’ve put the sides on it, or else you’ll have to rip them off in order to put the sides on and then have to stick the buggers back on again.  I’ve already had some interest on my personal Facebook page, and an interested party my mom has asked about ordering one as a wedding gift. I can’t wait to take another crack at it!

Thank you for reading!

One thought on “The Experiment + Inspiration Roundup

Leave a Reply

