Cookies · Showcase

My Busiest Week Yet!

For cookies, at least. I’ve had busier when it comes to, you know, life, but for cookies: bam, bam, BAM! Three back-to-back orders. I actually had to turn down an order that would have been due to ship right in the midst of all the others (see why I turned it down in my previous post).

At any rate, this week is all about the COOKIES!! So lets get down to delicious, crumbly business, shall we?

First up were two dozen themed cookies for a 3-year-old’s birthday party. The theme was based on the Disney, Jr. show Miles from Tomorrowland. I had never heard of the show before I got the order, so I had to look up a lot of references. It helped that some other cookiers have gone before me and put some really cute cookies together. I did not copy them, but I was certainly inspired! And in the end, the birthday boy and I were very happy with how they turned out.

IMG_20160620_215540173_HDRIMG_20160621_091556562IMG_20160621_132233826

I made all of them using only tipless piping bags for the first time. I found they were a lot like using parchment paper piping bags, but without the hassle of making them or the risk of them falling apart or softening and expanding the opening. All in all, very positive experience with them. I used 20-second icing throughout the process, which I think I might do differently in the future, as there were some detail items that I would have liked to get cleaner/sharper.

My second order of the week was for a friend’s Lu La Roe launch party. She got two dozen of their square logos, in a fantastic rainbow of colors!

IMG_20160623_082024993

Here’s a side-by-side of the cookie with the logo:

IMG_20160623_081929957 copy

Finally, my third order that week was from my Mom to give as a gift to my wonderful Aunt B who was getting remarried that weekend. She had been through so much in the years leading up to meeting P, so we were ecstatic when they decided to get married. Therefore, this gift was not only an order, but personally meaningful, as well. I tried a couple of new techniques along with it (stenciling and painting with luster dust), but they went very well, and I’m delighted with how they turned out!

platterIMG_20160623_143346954IMG_20160623_143448104

I love how elegant they are! If I do a future version, I’ll use a lighter shade of grey (or a different color altogether!) so the contrast between the stenciling and silver letters is better. I’ll also not make the same little mistake on the consistency of the lettering icing. It was a little too stiff for my purposes, but it still did well enough.

Have a favorite? Let me know in the comments!

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

