Cookies · Roundup · Showcase

A Mickey Mouse Kind of Week

Isn’t it kind of funny sometimes how things will coincidentally coincide? Take early last month, for instance: I had two separate orders for two separate themes based on Mickey Mouse.

The first order I received was for a 1-year-old’s birthday party in Nautical Mickey. Which, if you haven’t noticed, is kind of a big thing this year. I’ve been seeing Nautical Mickey all over Pinterest. Take a look:

My client didn’t have specific ideas, so I drew up a few ideas of my own based on the colors of her invitation, which she provided to me. Out of those designs, she picked three, resulting in this darling collection:

IMG_20160804_220701870IMG_20160804_220716413IMG_20160804_220726818IMG_20160804_220737396

The second order I received was from a mom of girls who were turning 1 and 3 about the same time, and wanted a Minnie Mouse themed collection of cookies. But, because there would be several boys at the party, she requested about half of the cookies to be Mickey themed. She sent me a few inspiration photos, which led me to create these cuties:

IMG_20160804_221104213IMG_20160804_221209055IMG_20160804_221152079

The best part for me, doing the labor, was that both orders were due on the same day! That meant that I could work on all the cookies at the same time: use the same cutters from the same recipes, etc. It made for a strangely relaxing decorating experience, except that I had to be extra careful in counting out how many of each design to do and not to mix them up. πŸ˜‰

As always, thanks for reading! See you next week!

Leave a Reply

