Art · Roundup · Showcase · Video

La Couronne des Champignons, Art Video

I don’t know if you have noticed, but recently there have been some really creative crowns out there. In particular, I’m kind of loving the Mermaid Crown trend. If you haven’t caught it, here’s what I’m talking about:

Gorgeous, right? Well, these beautiful things got me thinking: what other things could become a crown?

And the answer came to me: mushrooms. Take a look at the image results for “beautiful mushrooms” and get lost for a minute. Go ahead. I’ll wait.

Ready to keep going? Great! So, you totally get why I was inspired, right? I mean, they’re beautiful. Some of them practically are jewels. It didn’t take me long to decide that this had to happen. And who better to wear a crown of mushrooms, or Couronne des Champignons, than a forest mystic?

As I began sketching, her story filled out in my mind: this woman was raised in the forest. She learned young how the trees, brooks, animals, and all of it worked together in a dance. A dance to which she learned the music and the steps. As time went on, she became an ageless part of the forest, accepted by the wood spirits and fae as one of their own. The forest itself has crowned her as its own. She could use its resources to provide medicines and help to the village nearby, but she appeared only to those who truly needed help. Then one day, someone stumbles upon her in the forest. She is naturally surprised, but her surprise quickly transforms to intrigue, and she fades before their eyes with a laugh; don’t they know whose forest this is?

And despite a few difficulties along the way, I’m immensely happy with how she turned out. The background will get a little more tweaking after I’ve gotten refills for my two markers that died along the way, but other than that, she’s done.

So, here’s a question: if I offered prints, would you buy one? I’ve never done it, so I’m not sure how entrenched in that I want to get, but I’d like to get a feel for demand on something like this. Tell me what you think in the comments below, or on Facebook.

edited_web-size

As always, thanks for reading– and watching!

Leave a Reply

