Cookies · Showcase

Like a Last Taste of Summer… Almost

So, I don’t know what the weather is like where you are, but around here it’s still pretty hot. It’s November 2nd, and even though it feels like fall at dawn, we’re breaking 80*F long before noon. The forecast says we’re not dropping below a 71*F high for the next ten days at least. I made Butternut Squash Soup on Halloween night because– gosh darnit– I wanted to!! And, unfortunately, not because it was meteorologically appropriate. I’m so ready for soup weather!

I’m just not ready for winter (I never am), but it looks like our area is just going to stay in summer long enough to give fall a miss and go straight into winter.

But!

That doesn’t mean I’m not more than happy to make cute cookies. I got two orders last week, one for some soccer balls for a final match of the season, and some cute lemons. I’ll be brutally honest with myself and you, here: of the two orders, I only really like how one of them turned out. Because, my friends, Soccer Balls are HARD!! You think they’re simple shapes — oh, just some black pentagons connected with some hexagons. Wrong. So, so wrong. How can a few simple geometric shapes be so hard to make look right?! And, unfortunately, when you’re freehanding in black on a solid white background, you don’t get do-overs. Even so, here they are:

img_20161028_172924

Out of two dozen I think I actually liked, maybe, three. :/ Oh, well. My customer was satisfied, and I’m sure her three/four year old players were more than happy to eat the evidence!

My second order came out much, MUCH better, in my opinion. I absolutely loved how these sweet little lemons came out.

img_20161028_173154

They were all individually packaged, and I handed them off in a brown paper bag I had folded down so you could see them peeking over the top, like a little bag of fresh fruit. I wish I had gotten a picture before sending them off, but I’ll have to remember that in the future.

If only the weather would cooperate, these “last game” soccer balls and “end of season” lemons would make a great “last taste of summer,” if summer would just cooperate and GO AWAY!!

So, whenever Fall eventually happens, what are you most looking forward to? 🙂

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

