Cookies · Showcase

Geeky Fun is the Best Fun!

If you haven’t figured it out from my Star Wars and similar posts: I’m a geek. I own it, because, quite frankly, life is more fun that way. Some people use the word negatively, but I think that being a geek is a positive thing. I think it’s simply being able to love what you love unabashedly, shamelessly, even if it is fictional in nature. Books, movies, TV shows, games, etc. that have become “geeky” are simply forays into unreality that we can embrace for what they are: all in good fun.

That’s why it’s so fun to meet someone with similarly geeky interests. Meeting people with similar interests is like meeting someone you’ve already shared experiences with. It’s instant connection and commonality.That’s what I love about it.

I have a friend, H, who I met near the end of 2008 (right about eight years, friend!) over a small/medium-scale play-by-post RPG. It didn’t take long to form a friendship over the game itself and many, many shared interests. So this Christmas, when she requested addresses for Christmas cards and offered hers in return, I decided to send her a little something fun. What resulted were some ugly Christmas sweaters and Christmas lights in proper geeky fashion.

img_20161221_120532359img_20161221_120548307img_20161221_120551779img_20161221_095032399img_20161221_120557880img_20161221_120657180

Only one of the fandoms isn’t one that I have engaged. Can you get them all? My personal favorite is the Doctor Who one. It’s a quote from a fantastic character, related to my favorite companion. I had a lot of fun choosing the themes and doing the whole set. 🙂

What fandoms or other geeky fun would you have in your set of Christmas sweaters?

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Geeky Fun is the Best Fun!

    1. The only one you missed was Stranger Things, with the “RUN” Christmas lights. It’s the one thing out of these that I haven’t watched (I understand it has a horror vibe, and I just can’t), but my friend likes it and I have picked up on some of the more prominent features of the show, like the message lights. 🙂 Well done!

      Like

Leave a Reply

