Other · Showcase

Russian Piping Tips: First Attempt

Several weeks ago (running on a couple months, now) I was gifted a set of Russian piping tips (or “nozzles,” depending where you’re from). I wasted no time in putting them to use and made some cupcakes for a girls’ night. This was my first attempt with them so far, which pretty obviously shows that they have a bit of a learning curve to them.

Some of the things I learned in my first attempt at using them were:

  • Put down a base coat of frosting and chill the cupcakes before attempting to use the tips. The frosting from the tips will stick to the cupcake better this way.
  • Some of the tips will look better with a longer draw on them, resulting in a taller flower (the tulips, for example), but others want a shorter draw to look right (the roses).
  • The frosting wants to be decidedly room temperature to be piped. My buttercream was still a little cool when I used it and it was stiffer than necessary (American Buttercream already being a stiffer consistency frosting, any chill makes it unwieldy.)
  • Yes, use a stiff buttercream (such as American Buttercream), but find a good recipe. I’m not 100% happy with the recipe I used, so I’ll toy with it before sharing.
  • Start piping the flowers with the tip almost directly against the cupcake, begin squeezing the piping bag until a small “base” of frosting forms, and draw it directly upward. When you have reached the desired height on the flower, stop squeezing and give the piping bag a gentle shake while pulling away to get the petals to let loose. Sometimes the petals didn’t want to give way (stiff frosting) and resulted in petals falling off the cupcake.
  • Adding leaves covers a multitude of piping sins.
  • Using multicolor icing really sells it! (I’ll do a tutorial sometime on how to make icing bullets for piping flowers with different colored centers.)

That said, on with the pictures!

wsIMG_20170616_180056892

I started off doing sets of cupcakes with one kind of flower each (to the right), and used up any remaining icing from any given color on the multi-flowered cupcakes (to the left).

wsIMG_20170616_180107281

In some places you can see the mix of shorter roses and taller tulips. You can keep this in mind if you have a preference for more or less icing on a cupcake.

wsIMG_20170616_180116935

The purple flowers to the left were definitely where I learned that not all Russian piping tips are meant for tall flowers. They flopped over if I let them get too tall. (One, not in this photo, looked so awkward my 3.5yo commented that it looked “like a sea plant– an anemenemene.”)

wsIMG_20170616_180121440

I think these were my personal favorites. I like the bright pink with the yellow as well as the soft pink with the light spring green.

wsIMG_20170616_180127302

Here’s another photo of my favorites, just for kicks.

wsIMG_20170616_180131519

There we go, there’s the “anemenemene”! So, not all of my creative/cooking efforts come out perfectly (if you ever thought they did πŸ˜‰ ). Hopefully I’ll have more opportunity to practice these in the future!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

